Kami ni Ai: Chapter One (Part 1)

T/N: Konnichiwa, readers! This is your friendly neighborhood firefly, Hotaru-chan, with another translation project. This is not my main project, so updates will probably be only once a month, since my Japanese is not that good and chapters are tediously long (T_T). I’m not sure how long I’ll do it for but, I hope you enjoy it while it lasts!

Once again, if anyone wants to pick it up, let me know and I’ll pass it on right away! (^_^). Have fun reading!


In the god’s realm, a single “pure white” soul streamed in.

The god was surprised by how white that soul was.

As he gazed upon and gently held it, he peeked through the circumstances during its lifetime.

It seems that everyday, the owner of this soul would repeatedly reach out a helping hand to people who are in trouble.

Although each and every one were just small gestures, when dust accumulates, it makes a mountain…… is what was often said.

This soul was born on Earth, and that life had finished.

It lived for close to eighty years after all, so it must have done good deeds for a considerably long time.

Humans live according to their desire, and that desire is something that amasses impurities into one’s own self. For a soul to remain without blemish, as long as there were no major circumstance, should have been impossible, however……

However, this soul is “pure white”.

As the god looked at the soul, he had a sudden thought.

If it is this soul, then in time, it would become a 【god】.

However, what is to be done with this?…… The god was troubled over the treatment of this pure white soul.

And so, after careful consideration, he decided to send it to a certain world.

There are a multitude of worlds the god had created, among them are worlds where magic can be used.

How would this soul use this power that does not exist on Earth?…… It would be good to try and see that.

Placing a kiss on the soul within his hands, he spread both hands and sent it off.

“Ogyaaa, ogyaaa…..” [T/N: Such an adorkable cry! haha (=^_^=) ]

On this day, in Alpespia Kingdom, a new life was born.

This is the very life in which that pure white soul, that the god had sent out, dwells in.

The image of a lady as she lovingly carried a baby was seen by the god.

Now then, is that pure white soul the real thing or not……

In this world, how would it live? The god decided to watch over it’s future.

*****

Within a room where the light of the sun shone in, a pleasant voice rained incessantly on me.

「Let’s study together today as well, okay? Lean.」

The one who said that to me was my elder brother. The 「Lean」he called out is my name. In my family, he calls out my name the most often, thanks to being called out to everyday, again and again, I came to an awareness that my own name is Lean.

With a happy look and a gentle voice, he would begin to talk to me. Not only his voice, but my elder brother’s personality also seems kind.

I only gained awareness that I am Lean after being called repetitively because I have memories of my previous world.

I hold memories of before I came to be born in this world. Although I say this, it is only fragmentary, and none of it is clear though. Moreover, it might be due to having currently experienced memories as Lean….. there were instances where I could not tell in which world my self actually exists.

At that time, I was no more than a baby at first glance, who could only release an 「Aaahh—」sound which could not even be considered a word; obviously, nothing was communicated to my family.

Even though I was saying 「Where is this place?」, the words that were coming out were 「Uu—」.

In that way, I lived through everyday for three years, while listening to my family’s conversations, I was able to naturally understand the language of this world.

Now, I can understand the contents once I hear them. However, I cannot speak that well yet. Even though I understand it in my head, when it comes to actually speaking, it’s a different level of difficulty. If Japanese was used in this world, I could have spoken it with ease.

My brother spoke a lot to this kind of me, and I learned various things.

Recently I understood that this is another world and I am a reincarnator.

And it seems like he will be reading a book to me again today.

*********

Raymond’s POV

Placing the books on top of the wide desk, I spread them out and read them aloud for my younger brother, Lean Olgott.

Alpespia Kingdom is famous for being a country where the “Wise King” existed, and is known to be the land of origin for 『Magic』.

In the vast land, there are forests and mountains, there are also sites for looking out on to the sea.

Thanks to the development of magic, it is an abundant land in comparison to other kingdoms.

Each territory, without exception, has a church, and in each church, it is being preached that「God is ever present beside man」and 「In our everyday lives, let us be grateful for magic」.

The god they refer to here is God, and has no name. The Honorable One who created this world.

「Or so it says in the books left behind by the church.」

「Kumi, sha, maa?*」[T/N: the Japanese for God is ‘Kami-sama’ which is what his cutie is trying to say. I’ll be referring to him as such from this point on.]

Facing the books on top of the desk while inclining his head, he murmurs awkwardly as if talking to himself, my younger brother.

This cuteness makes my whole body tremble…….

My younger brother has fluffy hair that is almost whitish silver in color, deep blue eyes, and to top it all off, he has soft cheeks.

With his small, tender limbs, my little brother who sat on my knees, repeated my words to me.

Unable to speak words properly yet, his tone of speech is tottering. Although it’s a bit worrisome that his language acquisition is slow compared to the time my younger sister was of the same age, being together like this makes me think it is not that big of a deal anymore.

Even more than his appearance, his gestures are also very adorable.

I truly am infinitely grateful for the fact that he was born as my little brother.

I do believe that the days I spent with this adorable little brother will be the most valued treasure of my lifetime.

I also wonder and look forward to how many times I would faint in agony because of this cuteness.

Once again, I instruct my little brother.

Fufu. It’s ‘Kami-sama’」

「Kumishara…」

「It’s Ka-mi-sa-ma. Lean」

「Ka……mmm, mishama!」

With an unconcealed sense of being able to say the whole word, my brother showed a smile.

I pressed on my mouth as I writhed at this level of cuteness that no words could ever describe. [T/N: Gambatte, oniichan! we’re dying with you too! This cuteness is illegal!]

This Lean Olgott…… Lean’s time of birth was a very difficult one.

Mother’s physical strength was at it’s limits, both mother and child might not have any hope for survival……. is what the doctors were saying.

I became miserable at my own powerlessness…… Every time I saw the anxious-looking face of my father, who stayed by my mother’s side, tears would end up overflowing.

Because it was a difficult delivery, the moment Lean was born, I let out a 「Waah!」in delight, as if I found a treasure.

I was so emotionally moved that I forgot about my mother’s suffering and my father’s anxious face.

That little brother has now turned three years old.

Wanting to be together with Lean even for a little longer, it has recently become my daily routine to carry him on my lap while studying.

If I gently carry him in my arms while rubbing my cheeks on his fluffy hair, Lean would narrow his blue eyes, saying 「Nii-tama」as he smiles at me.

I would like to thank the God who gave me this angel called my little brother.

The one who worked hard was my mother though, so I don’t think it’s like I was given a present either……..

Letting the cute Lean ride on my lap, I opened another book.

「You know what? Kami-sama apparently dwelled in this world during the time it was created.」

「Mm…….?」

「That’s how it is written in this 『Concerning the World’s Creation and Magic』that I like.」

At the time the world was created, God stayed by man’s side. At God’s slight benevolence, ego sprouted in man, and eventually, it turned to lust.

God’s heart was pained as men became smeared with lust, and he lamented that men were pitiful creatures.

And so he removed the benevolence of his helping hand, and disappeared from man’s side.

One kingdom’s king noticed that God has disappeared from the side of men, and understood that God has abandoned them.

The king personally tried all possible means for the sake of his people, knowing he should make a world where man can still live as humans even in the absence of God.

Before long, the people called that king the “Wise King.”

The world that had lost God had terribly fallen into ruin.

The Wise King, amidst his anguish, conducted the government in earnest for the sake of the people.

Soon enough, the people, who were enabled to live a lifestyle of stability little by little through the Wise King’s efforts, began to be grateful towards the Wise King.

The Wise King, who had gained the people’s support, promoted “Prayer,” in order to encounter God again.

With the Wise King and his people’s prayers, God’s heart was healed just a little bit. And so, in exchange for the Wise King’s life, people received Magic.

As the people were enabled to use magic, their lifestyle became better than it was before.

And the Wise King who lost his life in exchange for magic was revered as the【god of magic】, as people included prayers in their magic, living each day with gratitude.

「In the end…… magic was spread throughout the world from the kingdom where the Wise King stayed, Alpespia Kingdom. Is what it says, you know? Although right now, they’re not here anymore, in this world, God and the Wise King existed. And we also know this because of how books like this remain, right? 」

「Uh?」

Maybe Lean cannot comprehend this yet, but I like this story. I want Lean to also know of the story that I like.

I do not know if it was conveyed to him, however, the smiling Lean was touching and playing with the book that I like with his hands.

[TO BE CONTINUED…]


Character Introduction||TOC||Next

4 thoughts on “Kami ni Ai: Chapter One (Part 1)

Leave a comment