Kami ni Ai: Chapter One (Part 2)

T/N: Long time no see! There will be a lengthy rant explanation for my long unplanned hiatus at the end… *bows* my deepest apologies to those who were kept waiting.

Enjoy!


Vaila’s POV

“….. Raymond-niisama, what are you doing to my Lean!”

I ground my teeth together as I peeked through the gap between the doors.

I sent a moistened gaze towards the Nii-sama who was exposing a slackened expression within the room.

“My Lean……..”

As I muttered that, I felt like my line of sight met with those of Lean, who was within the room, and I was taken aback. Ugh, I can’t take Nii-sama’s hogging any longer!—

BAM!

When I made a loud sound as I opened the doors and walked towards the desk at a brisk pace, Nii-sama became flustered upon noticing my arrival. He turned his face away, trying not to let our eyes meet.

Even at a time like this, my little brother, Lean Olgott, would gently smile as he looks at me.

Just being faced with those beautiful eyes, I feel like he can see through the innermost part of my heart.

“Vaila……”

“Raymond-niisama’s time is up.”

When I suddenly snatched my little brother away, Niisama let out a small cry of “Ahh!”

I secretly laughed at that pathetic voice.

“Please do your best in your studies,” I told him, and just like that, I walked towards the courtyard while carrying Lean.

My arms felt tired midway so I brought my little brother down, and the two of us held hands and happily walked together.

“Lean?”

“Ye~esh?”

When I called his name, maybe it was because he was trying to concentrate on walking, but he responded to me with a voice that sounded like his mind was wandering.

Even with that kind of response, I become happy.

I am ten years old, while Lean is three.

My little brother whose age is slightly far from mine is really cute!

It can’t just be expressed with the single word “cute” though!

As we arrived at the courtyard, Mother was sitting on a seat at a table that had been set up under the tree.

She was drinking black tea, making it look delicious.

Upon noticing Mother, Lean stretched out both hands and went on a dash.

“Mo–mother!”

“Aah, that’s dangerous!”

Letting go of my hand, Lean ran off while being pulled by the weight of his own head.

[*T/N: Babies and toddlers’ heads tend to be slightly bigger than their bodies. so cute! >_<]

When he bumped into Mother, he was placed on her lap, and he tightly clung onto her voluminous chest.

While saying “Oh, Lean~,” Mother slowly patted his head in a loving and gentle way.

As he gently narrowed his eyes, a white light could be seen coming out of Lean’s body.

That white light was shining as if to wrapped itself around Mother.

My eyes are able to see a person’s magic power; in them, dwells the power called ⌈Mana Vision*⌋.

[*T/N: It literally says “Magic Power Vision]

It’s just that it’s on the weaker side, so unless I concentrate, I cannot see it.

Right now, Lean is probably using healing magic to heal Mother.

Why did I say “probably”? Because Lean, himself, is unaware that he is using healing magic.

With no awareness, and unconsciously, he heals Mother.

The first time I saw that was at the time Lean was born.

The moment Father placed Lean into my exhausted Mother’s embrace, the white light that came out of Lean’s body wrapped around her.

After a while, Mother recovered!

I don’t know why but…… I felt that Lean was the one who did that for her.

That’s why I assume that the thing that Lean is using is Healing Magic.

It seems like my little brother will be an excellent magic user with future prospects that are worth looking forward to.

As I looked upon Lean who was dozing off in my Mother’s embrace, my eyes accidentally met with hers.

And then, we giggled and laughed together.

Right now, Mother is quite lively but before Lean was born, her body was weak.

I was so worried about her body that I often went to the church to pray to God.

That’s why I’m sure that in answer to my prayer, God gave Lean the ⌈Power to Heal⌋!

I truly thank you, Lean.

My angelic little brother.

My little brother who is sleeping with a happy face, my Mother who held him with a gentle smile. And me, who looks at that scene.

This moment will probably be the most precious treasure of my life.

After all, the time of infancy just passes by before you know it.

I am grateful to God for this moment of happiness.

 

++++++++++

 

Lean’s POV

My name is Lean Olgott Luna Alpespia.

I thought it was just ⌈Lean⌋, but the proper name is ⌈Lean Olgott⌋.

Now then, thanks to Onii-sama and Onee-sama, I gradually came to know about our family.

Father is a son of the king of Alpespia Kingdom. In other words, the king is my grandfather.

I was born in that kind of family lineage.

I would come to understand this even if I don’t want to, right?

All of the furniture look expensive after all, the bed has a canopy too, and the bedding* is fluffy. And on the floor, too, a fluffy carpet was laid out.

[T/N: the original uses “futon” but since their setting is Medieval Western, it would sound weird to use futon, as futon is really Japanese bedding consisting of both the quilt and mattress]

Grandfather is the king, so he lives in the castle, but Father’s household, which includes myself, does not stay in the castle.

We live in the land where Father serves as the feudal lord.

Among royalty, they say it is the territory closest to the royal castle.

My father is Alphonse Luna Alpespia.

With green eyes and blonde hair tied together at the back. His face, like an actor’s, is well-featured and cool.

My mother is Leiluth Luna Alpespia.

She is an exceedingly beautiful woman, and I love her very much.With silver hair and amber eyes. Her body is weak, but she gave birth to three children.

Apparently, as Mother grew weaker with each time she gave birth, father felt quite anxious.

My elder brother is Raymund Luna Alpespia.

Just like my father, he has blonde hair and green eyes. He also has a good head on his shoulders, and his face, just like Father’s, is well-featured.

Although he is kind, the only fly in the ointment is that he likes me too much.

When he is with me from time to time, his face slackens to a surprising degree!

But his smiling face is beautiful and kind, his voice has a pleasant tone, and it is calming to listen to.

My sister is Vaila Luna Alpespia.

She has light chestnut-colored hair and eyes that are a deeper shade of green than that of elder brother’s.

Sometimes, it may be due to the degree of lighting or something; there are times when the color of those eyes would seem to look light brown.

She is a bit cold to Elder Brother, but to me, she is a kind person, overflowing with love.

She often assists Mother, and Mother is also pleased with her.

She seems to be a bit bad with studies.

However, I’m sure she’s only taking it easy with studying, I believe she’s an elder sister who can do well if she just tried~.

By the way, our household’s middle name ⌈ Luna ⌋ is said to be the ⌈ name of the territory we reside in ⌋.

From the time they were granted a territory entrusted by the king, the fact that my parents are the lords of the land is known through their name.

Now then, although there was a period of confusion earlier, I can finally distinguish and understand the difference between this world and my previous world.

In my previous world, it looks like I lived quite a long life. I aimed to do a good deed each day.

That’s why when I saw someone who was troubled, I couldn’t help but want to aid them; because of that, it seems that I was called a ⌈ hypocrite ⌋.

It seems like the me from my previous world played games with the neighborhood children and received information about manga and anime, even when I became an adult. I had reached the point where I would play with children, so I think I might have been a bit of a childish person.

The fact that I was able to smoothly understand that I reincarnated and that this is another world, might have been because I somehow remembered that there were stories about other-world reincarnations and transfers in the book I borrowed from a child.

Right now, this is as much as I can recall. My memories of the previous world are getting clearer than before, so as time passes, I might be able to remember more.

I became able to differentiate my previous world from the present when I was able to recall my memories of that book on other-world reincarnations.

Moreover, the most surprising thing out of the memories I recalled was that after my death, I met with ⌈ Kami-sama* ⌋.

[*T/N: should I use God? or stick to Kami-sama?]

When I was heading towards a warm place, Kami-sama was there.

Kami-sama wrapped himself around me and said to me, ⌈ Beloved child…. take care on your trip.*⌋

[*T/N: He said “itterasshai” which is a commonly used expression for sending someone off on a journey.]

Well, I only remembered that recently though.

I reincarnated in a place with a wonderful family, so I believe it would be a waste not to enjoy life from this point onward.

Even though I have met with Kami-sama, it’s not like I was imposed with some order to “save the world,” and there was nothing in particular either, so I arbitrarily interpreted it as me being able to live as I please.

Firstly….. I’ll study, maybe?

I still can’t talk that well after all~

I can understand if I listen, but I feel gloomy that I could not make out the words.

It’s sad….. *sob sob*

I went into Father’s library and stealthily picked up a book.

Even though I, more or less, had knowledge from the previous world, I have to properly know about this world!

I can’t talk yet, but I can read and write. That’s why I can read the title of this book I have in hand, ⌈ Great Exploits of the Wise King⌋.

I turned the pages, flipping through them as I read through the letters.

SmartSelect_20200627-193243_アルファポリス.jpg

Written in it, was this kingdom’s history and the Wise King’s exploits.

Firstly it starts with the history.

In ancient times, this world’s continent was divided into three; and within the continent, there were the human race, beast race, elven race, dwarven race, and the demon race…. wha—

“Demon raysh*!?” [*T/N: he’s lisping]

I was so surprised, that my voice came out, but I could not say it well.

Demon race, huh~…… by demon race, do they mean that demon race? Like with the Demon King at the summit? …. it’s fa-fantasy, isn’t it!

Ahaha

“Phew~”

I calmed my heart and allowed my eyes to run through the continuation.

Written there were facts concerning the aforementioned six races.

“Uh-huh, uh-huh”

These were the contents of what I was able to understand:

The beast race refers to therianthropes. They are a race with high physical abilities and dexterous fingers. The strength of their magic abilities may vary depending on the individual.

The elven race were mostly the same as fantasy tropes on Earth.

Long-lived and specialized in spirit magic: wind and water. They tend to avoid strangers and seemingly have high magic power.

The dwarven race also according to standard tropes.

Long-lived and specializing in spirit magic: fire and earth. They utilize blacksmithing and alchemy.

Though the strength of their magic power may differ depending on the individual, the more years they’ve accumulated, the higher their magic power.

And lastly, the demon race.

With high class magic and alchemy, they specialize in making medicine, and they have strong magic powers.

Even within the demon race, their race is further subdivided and depending on their species, they could be the difference of being short-lived or long-lived.

⌈They are dangerous.⌋ is not really written in particular, so maybe the demon race might unexpectedly be a more approachable existence, I wonder?

Does creating medicine mean that among doctors, many are of the demon race, perhaps?

As I continue reading more, there were records of the Wise King creating the infrastructure that is known in all other-worldly stories, the ⌈Guild⌋. There are three categories: the Commercial Guild, Medical Guild, and the Adventurers’ Guild.

Even now, it seems that these guilds are still there and the entry conditions are written in great detail.

When I grow up, I want to try going to the Adventurers’ Guild and such~!

Reincarnating, registering into the Adventurers’ Guild, that kind of template, I’d like to do it! Somehow, it makes me excited.

“Lean?”

“!?”

Being suddenly called out to from behind, my body froze.

This voice is…

“Father”

As that person carried me, he fixedly gazed upon my face and then, he gently smiled.

There’s no mistaking it, he’s my Father.

While my Father said, “There are no picture books here, you know~,” he quickly tidied up the books I have scattered around.

And I wanted to read a little bit more, too~

Evidently, it was almost time for dinner, so he went to my room to call me, but he could not find me there; on his way back, he found the door to this library open, and as it turns out, he came by to close it. That’s what I understand from Father’s self-talk.

In the end, I ended up being retrieved by Father!

With a feeling of painful reluctance, I left the room together with Father.

I must look for that book again from that spot.

Ohoho…..

——End of Chapter One—–


Translator’s Rant:

Hello, Readers!

I hope everyone is safe and healthy during this trying time. I deeply apologize for my sudden hiatus. I was not planning on going on such a long break, but there were several unavoidable circumstances that lead to it:

  1. I made an error that lead to me losing all of my translated work early on and had to write them all up again from scratch.
  2. I am a frontliner in the medical field so with the arrival of the COVID-19 pandemic, my workload also intensified, and to be honest, by the time I get home, all I see is my bed and nothing else.
  3. My mother had to borrow my laptop for her online business since March, so I’ve been using my phone to translate so it’s a bit annoying to work that way.

Well, all in all, I hope you guys were not too disappointed by the long absence.

Still your neighborhood firefly, Hotaru! *bow*


Previous||TOC||Next

2 thoughts on “Kami ni Ai: Chapter One (Part 2)

Leave a comment