Sozai Saishuka: Chapter 5 -Let’s Try Raw Material Collection (part 1)

T/N: Hey, hey, hey~! It’s your friendly neighborhood firefly here with another chapter of Takeru’s adventure~!

Part two will be released after 2 weeks, so stay tuned! And if you have time, please check out my side project“Kami ni Aisareta Ko/The Child Loved by God

Enjoy! 


Early morning of the next day.

I woke up in the bed where I slept soundly with the feeling of being crammed in and with my feet seriously dangling out. Even though there is not a single sense of weariness or exhaustion, I sighed as I stared at the unfamiliar ceiling.

“It wasn’t a dreamー……”

I wanted to say, “I saw a realistic dream, huh.”

However, it wasn’t a dream. My feet that are sticking out are a bit cold. I did not feel sleepy so I sluggishly got up. I basically prefer to quickly get on the move in the morning instead of dawdling around.

I changed into the clothes I prepared yesterday and drew close to the bucket of water that had completely gone cold.

『Heat』

When I held my hand out and chanted, the water boiled in no time, and in no time, it reached a moderate temperature. I made it boil once as precaution against bacteria.

This is also one of the livelihood-convenient magic that I tried out before I went to bed. Magic that is used for living life more abundantly is called livelihood-convenient magic. In abbreviation, I decided to call it Life Magic. As a Japanese person used to indulging oneself, I will strive to make myself comfortable, even if it’s just a little bit.

I washed my face and felt refreshed. I can probably clean myself up using magic, but I would feel disgusting if I don’t physically wash my face and hands. I intend to do whatever I can myself rather than relying on magic for each and every single thing. After doing so, I felt hungry, and a delightful sound rumbled out.

Although there was no particular designated time for breakfast, but outside the window, the villagers have already started going about with their activities. It might be typical for those in this village to start moving upon the rising of the Saturn-shaped sun.

“Good morning.”

I descended to the lower floor, and went to the dining hall that was also used last night. Because I came over at a slightly late time last night, on top of a cold meal, I lifelessly ate alone in the dining hall that had no one in it. Apparently, dinner is prepared immediately after the sun sets.

“Good morning, Takeru-san. The soup is just about ready.”

“Thank you.”

Landlady-san guided me to sit on a different seat from last night

There were also other tables where several other people were seated and having their meal. I wonder if they are people staying in the inn.

“I’ll bring you the lunchbox after your meal, so firstly, please eat a lot!”

A large number of dishes were carried to my table one after another. Is it the norm to eat this much in the morning? But looking around at the other tables, that does not seem to be the case. The one next to me only had soup, bread and some meat at most.

“Landlady-san, why is it only me who has a lot?”

“You’re this big, after all. You eat a lot, don’t you?”

“Well, I’m the type who likes to eat but…”

“If you have some leftover, it will go to your lunchbox. Don’t hold back, and eat a lot.”

Soup, salad and bread, some sort of side dish, a meat dish, and something similar to risotto. It lacks the delicateness and colorful vibrance of Japanese cuisine, but those big plates were piled up with delicious-looking dishes.

It is a pleasant fragrance that tickles the nasal cavities. In response to the “gyuru-gyuru” demands of my stomach, I opened my big mouth and began the annihilation of the dishes.

I felt uneasy about how otherworldly cuisine would compare to Japanese food but, just like last night’s meal, this was really delicious. Last night’s food had gone cold and hard, but each and everyone of this morning’s dishes were delicious. Once I put it into my mouth and swallow, I immediately shove the next one in.

“Ahaha, the way you eat makes people feel good!”

“It’s amazingly delicious, you know!”

“The meals are made by my husband though, they’re quite decent, aren’t they?”

The taste is a bit concentrated, but not as much as junk food. The vegetables are also fresh and delicious. For this to be part of the service, that’s way too extravagant.

“Are these ingredients something produced by this village?”

“The spices and seasonings are bought off of a merchant from Belkaim though. The meat, vegetables, and the legumes are all harvested from around here.”

“Ooh*”

[*T/N: he says “Heeh” へぇぇ in the raws, I kinda took liberties with this expression.]

Food conditions seem to be relatively rich. I was thinking about how this is in the middle of nowhere but that does not seem to be a problem. Since they can bring out dishes that are this good, they should have enough for them to trade.

When I leveled out every single one of the dishes they brought out, the landlady widened her eyes in surprise, and gave me a hearty laugh. In the end, there was none left to be portioned into a lunchbox, but originally, it seems that they were going to prepare a lunchbox with large portions. In this case, I have to repay their kindness.

I returned to my room and stuffed the lunchbox into my bag, I readjusted the boots I put on and wore my robe.

All of my luggage have been stuffed into my bag so the room was, once again, empty, but I left the cloth I used as a towel by the window so it should serve as a proof of my existence.

Today, I will search for raw materials and sell them to put together my livelihood supplies.

I do have a change of clothes, but I intend to buy a towel and simple footwear. The boots I have on now are sturdy but I would like to change onto more comfortable shoes whenever I am at the inn. I have a hard time putting them on and taking them off. I want sandals.

『Search』

Coming out of the village, I walked on the main road for a while and entered the inner part of the woods and spread out my appraisal magic.

“Ooohh!”

In a moment, everything before my eyes sparkled in radiance. Red, white, and green lights lit up on their own, to an irritating degree.

But if you think of them as valuable objects that have fallen here and there…… if it’s just being dazzled, then I’ll put up with it. Without further delay, let’s start the collection with the one that lit up next to me.

【Epala Leaf, Rank E】

One of the ingredients for recovery medicine. It has a fatigue recovery effect (small) even if the leaf is ingested on its own.

【Liola Leaf, Rank D】

One of the ingredients for recovery medicine. Eating the root causes diarrhea so take caution.

【Elemental Mushroom, Rank E】

Edible. It can either be roasted, boiled, or dried.

【Madder Mushroom, Rank E】

Edible. It can either be roasted, boiled, or dried.

【Cocor Fruit, Rank E】

Edible. It pops when roasted, take caution. To be eaten after boiling with salt.

【Hammer Anteater’s Excrement, Rank C】

【Hammer Anteater’s, Rank C】

【Hammer Anteater’s, Rank C】

Oi, oi, oi! I found a Hammer Anteater corpse. On top of that, more poop.

I wonder if the red indicators signify raw materials from monsters or animals. The red light that I practically did not see in the grasslands, could be seen here and there, albeit not that many.

All of those red ones can’t all be the anteater’s, can it?

【Rockbird’s Feather, Rank F】

A popular ornament.

【Beowolf’s Fallen Fur, Rank D】

Can be a raw material for smithing* armor. Flame resistant.

[*T/N: the raw says 錬金 from 錬金術 which translates to alchemy. Like the fur can be alchemized or refined into the metal during the smithing process?So it’s different from Blacksmithing in that sense, I guess.]

【Itsuka Mouse’s Fallen Tooth, Rank C】

A popular ornament.

Just as I thought, the red indicator means raw materials from monsters and animals.

In other words, raw materials that can be traded are indicated in red, white, and green; and those can be easily located through Appraisal magic. The variation in ranks is for whether they are easily found or not. Or, whether or not it is on demand.

I opened the lunchbox that I received from the landlady, and took a small break.

Vegetables and meat are inserted in something shaped like a sandwich, this also looks delicious. The sandwich that I thought was quite big was finished in a matter of minutes.

I can still eat some more, so I ate the edible mushrooms that I picked. These are delicious even when eaten raw. If a bit of salt and pepper were to be sprinkled on, I’m sure it would be even more delicious. Let’s add some more and collect them, I’ll give some to the landlady as well.

I drank water from the flask in my bag. This water is amazingly delicious, isn’t it? It’s like drinking a softdrink.

『Search』

When I moved locations and chanted the magic for the second time, flickering lights appeared in the same way. However, I noticed a blue light flickering further in. It’s the first time a blue indicator appeared.

I silently collected varieties of edible wild plants near my feet as I approached the blue light.

There lay a skeleton corpse wearing helmet and armor.

His head is torn off and his arm is broken, so this must be where he fought and lost. Looking at the surrounding area, a few trees have fallen and there were a few depressions on the ground.

Although it is my first time seeing a skeletal cadaver, and one that met with such a gruesome end at that, I was not disturbed one bit. I was not even close to screaming, and all I thought of was ‘Ahh, bones.’

This must be that Fear Resistance thing, huh? I’m glad I did not lose my footing in an unsightly way due to fear or pee my pants, but somehow, as a person, wonder if this is okay.

【To be continued...


Previous ||TOC||Next

One thought on “Sozai Saishuka: Chapter 5 -Let’s Try Raw Material Collection (part 1)

Leave a comment